Adventures in Juice- Ninja Review: Day 2

So my awesome boyfriend got me a Ninja blender on black Friday for early Christmas which I was very excited about. It got here about a week ago but I just tried it yesterday. I’ve written about juice cravings before and was pretty stoked to try.

Image

I went to Walmart and got a sack of little granny smith apples and a sack of oranges. I also got 2 packages of whole carrots, 2 lemons, 4 bananas, 4 tomatoes and some celery. I was a little miffed that they didn’t have any strawberries. Overall I had no idea what I was doing besides knowing that my mom used to make apple carrot juice for me. I’m dreaming also of a spicy bloody mary (no booze) with homegrown hot peppers from my freezer.

Last night I made a delicious sage colored smoothie of 2 little apples, 3 oranges, a banana, and some ice. It was amazingly good and I drank it all that evening. My man even tried a sip and he is not so into juice or fruit.

Today I made a smoothie of about 5 carrots, 4 green apples, a lemon, some ice and some water (after it just wouldn’t liquefy . This recipe (or… list of non specific ingredients) was suggested by one of my students who is always inspiring me to think about or try healthy stuff. It’s decent but it seems… chewy. I don’t know if there’s a way to do carrots right with a blender but I don’t really care. She also suggested drinking juices within 15 minutes so they don’t lose their nutrients and storing them in the fridge in a mason jar filled to the brim to avoid oxidation. I don’t know if the 15 minutes thing is true, but I can’t stop drinking the juice so that’s not an issue. The oxidation I believe because of beer that’s tasted worse after being left half drank in a growler.

I am still new to the rules and practices of juice. My friend Angie has a juicer (separates pulp from the juice) and suggested this site: http://www.jointhereboot.com/tag/smoothie/

I was glad she had some suggestions because when I was googling for smoothie recipes I was finding gross shit like hiding brocolli and spinach from your kids in peach and berry smoothies. I was also glad I asked for a blender and not a juicer after much deliberation because she said she doesn’t juice like she used to anymore because there’s so much damn pulp she doesn’t know what to do with it all. Plus I loved my (not really mine) vitamix of yesteryear. 

I don’t know if its acceptable or unhealthy to sip juice all day. I had a big glass for breakfast around 10 or 1030 and now its noon and i’m drinking the spare mason jar full. Feeling kind of empty inside. Fruit has a lot of sugar but I’m avoiding refined carbs (white sugar) so I don’t know if the fiber counteracts the sugar or if smoothie-ing can actually make you gain weight. Research needs to be done and it will probably be done by my mouth. Hoping not to ever get burnt out on Ninja-ing! 

Leave a Reply

